Grammy Award-winning singer, songwriter and musician Jason Isbell and his band the 400 Unit’s highly anticipated new album, Reunions, is out today on Southeastern Records/Thirty Tigers. Stream/purchase HERE.

In celebration of the release, Isbell will perform a special livestream concert tonight with his wife and 400 Unit bandmate, Amanda Shires, live from Nashville’s new Brooklyn Bowl at 8:00pm ET/7:00pm CT. The stream, hosted by FANS, is free to the public with a suggested donation to support Isbell’s crew as well as the MusiCares COVID-19 Relief Fund.

Produced by Grammy Award-winning producer Dave Cobb and recorded at Nashville’s historic RCA Studio A, Reunions features 10 new songs written by Isbell and is already receiving overwhelming attention including an extensive profile on Isbell at The New York Times, a performance and interview last week on “The Daily Show with Trevor Noah” and most recently, an interview on “CBS This Morning” with host Anthony Mason.

Recent critical acclaim for Reunions

“he’s one of the best songwriters working today and he also leads one of the tightest and most powerful bands…he can conjure this entire universe with just the fewest words” —NPR Music

“another shining light of Nashville…inspiring person, outstanding artist” —NPR World Café

Reunions is reason to feel glad all over…full of emotional nourishment and moral fiber, dished up as quick narrative tapas.” —Variety

“Jason Isbell has become the last of his kind: a guitar-playing, compulsively honest, relentlessly consistent songwriter.” —GQ

“Jason Isbell long ago earned his place among the finest songwriters of his generation. Now he’s just pouring it on.” —Associated Press

“one of his most personal albums and yet also one of his boldest…we all need a battle cry and Reunions is a great battle cry for this year” —Sound Opinions 

“he’s using his stronger-than-ever voice for the powers of good” —Entertainment Weekly

“He’s the kind of musician that aging forebears find kinship with, while his outlook and persona are still distinctly of his own time…a startling level of craft in terms of lyrics and melody forms the bedrock for raw, emotional storytelling” —Stereogum

“a singular storyteller who often reveals more truths in a few words than those less adept do in a whole album” —Billboard

“moves steadily and carefully, lingering on the conflicted emotions of his finely-etched tales and the band’s textured, elegant understatement.” —Pitchfork

“a body of work that often feels indispensable. Isbell is a songwriter’s songwriter, but the songs that result are for all of us.” —Paste

“his pen is pointed as ever…honest, intense, admonishing and yet simultaneously forgiving, the songs on Reunions share a pain that feels exceptionally current” —Spin

“one of the most gifted singer/songwriters of the current generation, Isbell can do no wrong…the man is clearly at the top of his game” ★★★★ — American Songwriter

“a poet warrior…literary wonders composed by a man of enormous empathy and sensitivity” —Men in Blazers

“a rich portrait of an artist eternally searching deeper within himself” —Rolling Stone

“his legacy as a songwriter will be his ability and willingness to write with honesty and insight” —Nashville Scene

“He makes familiar sounds feel fresh, he fills a void you might not’ve realized was there, and his subject matter resonates so much right now” —Brooklyn Vegan

“the most musically rich of all of Isbell and The 400 Unit’s albums to date” —No Depression

“the Americana guitarist and bandleader has been producing one forthright, finely wrought solo album after another.  Reunions maintains that winning streak.” —The Philadelphia Inquirer

“nothing short of masterful” —Sounds Like Nashville

“He’s rarely sounded closer to your eardrums than on ‘Be Afraid,’ even as what must be a half-dozen electric guitars are taking off into the ether.” —The Tennessean

“one of the most respected songwriters in the game…These songs are excellent additions to an already impressive body of work.” —UPROXX

“devastating turns of phrase and soulful tones on both voice and guitar” —Vulture

“Sweeping Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers tones may come to mind when things open up; the understated rest is quite freshly and equally elegant.” —The Wall Street Journal

“further cements his place as one of the best storytellers in modern country” —Newsweek

Reunions is Isbell’s seventh full-length studio album and the fourth released with his band, the 400 Unit: Derry deBorja (piano, keyboard, organ, omnichord), Chad Gamble (drums, tambourine), Jimbo Hart (bass), Amanda Shires (fiddle) and Sadler Vaden (acoustic guitar, electric guitar). The new album also includes background vocals from special guests David Crosby (Crosby, Stills & Nash, the Byrds) and Jay Buchanan (Rival Sons).

Of the release, Isbell shares, “There are a lot of ghosts on this album. Sometimes the songs are about the ghosts of people who aren’t around anymore, but they’re also about who I used to be, the ghost of myself. I found myself writing songs that I wanted to write fifteen years ago, but in those days, I hadn’t written enough songs to know how to do it yet. Just now have I been able to pull it off to my own satisfaction. In that sense it’s a reunion with the me I was back then.”

Originally from Green Hill, Alabama and now based in Nashville, Isbell is a four-time GRAMMY Award-winning artist and is widely renowned as one of the greatest songwriters of his generation. Garnering immense critical acclaim throughout his career, NPR Music calls him, “one of the finest singer-songwriters working at the intersection of folk, country and rock today,” and continues, “his songs have an exquisite, rawboned realism and deeply embedded class-consciousness,” while American Songwriter declares, “There’s no better songwriter on the planet at this moment, no one operating with the same depth, eloquence or feeling” and USA Today proclaims, “he has developed into one of the great American songwriters…in a world where most pop songs are lies, Isbell is determined to find truth.”

Since the release of his breakthrough solo album, Southeastern, in 2013, Isbell has won four GRAMMY Awards, nine Americana Music Association Awards and was selected as the Country Music Hall of Fame & Museum’s official 2017 Artist-in-Residence. Most recently, Isbell became a member of the acclaimed collaborative movement The Highwomen (fronted by fellow members Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby, Maren Morris and Amanda Shires) and wrote “Maybe It’s Time”—featured in the award-winning 2018 film, A Star Is Born.

For more information, please contact Carla Sacks 212.741.1000,
Asha Goodman 615.320.7753 or Catherine Snead 615.320.7753 at Sacks & Co.

1. What’ve I Done To Help
2. Dreamsicle
3. Only Children
4. Overseas
5. Running With Our Eyes Closed
6. River
7. Be Afraid
8. St. Peter’s Autograph
9. It Gets Easier
10. Letting You Go