Critically acclaimed Southern California-based singer/songwriter Matt Costa’s fifth full-length album—and first in five years—Santa Rosa Fangs is out now on Dangerbird Records and available for purchase/streaming at

In anticipation of Costa’s west coast tour—which kicks off July 7 at San Francisco’s Café du Nord—the San Francisco Chronicle is premiering the video for the album track “Real Love.” Watch the video alongside Costa’s interview with the Chronicle at, and share the video at See below for a complete list of performances; tickets are available for purchase at

Santa Rosa Fangs continues to receive extensive critical praise:

“[Costa] distills half a century of predecessors into a potent pop pastiche…Santa Rosa Fangs is filled with fetching melodies. There are also hooks galore, from the choir of Costas singing on the piano-pounding title cut to the repetition of the protagonist’s name in ‘Sharon.’ Even the tambourines are catchy.” –Associated Press

Santa Rosa Fangs [is]… one of the most ambitious projects Costa has taken on.” –Billboard

“Costa [has a] knack for writing timeless, accessible pop/rock songs with enough of a bent to keep music snobs from getting their torn-and-tattered T.Rex T-shirts in a bunch.” –Magnet

“The LP is a stirring and cinematic look and listen into the sometimes autobiographical, sometimes fictional, journey of the venerable California musician through the tangled groves and grapevines of his home state.” –The Big Takeover

“Concepts and themes aside, Santa Rosa Fangs is a sumptuous sounding album.” –AXS

“Costa’s knack for composing layers of soft psychedelic sounds stapled together with songwriting reflective of his big heart is as evident as it ever has been.” –popmatters

“[‘Sharon’] will be chiming in your head the rest of the day.”

Additionally, Costa launched a series of digital mixtapes in the lead-up to the release of Santa Rosa Fangs, each playlist corresponding to a leg of the drive up the California coast as played out by the protagonists who appear throughout the new album. Listen to “” at

Produced by Peter Matthew Bauer (The Walkmen) and Nick Stumpf (French Kicks), the songs on Santa Rosa Fangs center around a fictional young woman named Sharon, her two brothers Ritchie and Tony, and their story of love, loss and coming of age in California, replete with long distance love affairs and nostalgic romances. Rather than setting out to create a specific narrative, Costa began noticing a theme in the new songs as he wrote them: an unconscious embodiment of the surroundings in which he himself had grown up.

“I’ve interwoven my own stories into a fictional idea of what Santa Rosa Fangs is, from my own time spent living in Northern and Southern California and years driving up and down the coast, seeing the landscape and where life can pull you within one state,” Costa explains. “It’s the characters’ story and my story, too, contemporary but still tortured by the past. It’s a window into a time period but spoken as if it’s the present. The beauty of love and loss doesn’t have a date on it; it’s timeless.”

Santa Rosa Fangs follows Costa’s 2013 self-titled effort, which was hailed by MTV News as “a full-blown orchestral-pop affair, with strings and horns urging the songs to grand heights and dramatic dynamic shifts,” while American Songwriter included it in their Top 50 Albums of 2013, noting that “everything is meticulously arranged, often with strings, horns and layered backing singing. They effortlessly capture a sweet, innocent, truly captivating folk pop whimsy that never seems forced, pretentious or outdated, even with its obvious reverence for an earlier time.”

In the early 2000s Costa was on his way to becoming a professional skateboarder when he was derailed by a serious injury. He changed his focus to his songwriting and an early demo found its way to No Doubt’s Tom Dumont, who ultimately produced Costa’s early recordings. In the time since Costa’s last full-length record he has kept busy by soundtracking the award-winning documentary Orange Sunshine and independently releasing a series of EPs.

For more information, please contact Joe Cohen, Samantha Tillman or Carla Sacks at Sacks & Co., 212.741.1000.

1. I Remember It Well
2. Sharon
3. Grudge
4. Pacific Grove
5. Santa Rosa Fangs
6. Time Tricks
7. Coming Around
8. Ritchie
9. Phosphorescent Letter
10. Windy Smile
11. Real Love
12. I Remember It Well #2


* with Katie Toupin (ex-Houndmouth)

July 7 /// San Francisco, CA /// Café du Nord*
July 9 /// Bellingham, WA /// Wild Buffalo*
July 10 /// Seattle, WA /// Tractor Tavern*
July 11 /// Vancouver, BC /// Biltmore Cabaret*
July 12 /// Portland, OR /// Doug Fir Lounge*
July 27 /// Hemet, CA /// Derby’s Bar & Grill
August 16 /// Dana Point, CA /// Bluff Park at Salt Creek Beach