Obviously, the new album from Lake Street Dive, debuts this week at #5 on Billboard’s Top Albums chart while also peaking at #1 on Americana/Folk, #2 on Current Rock Albums and #2 on Current Alternative Albums charts. In addition, lead single “Hypotheticals” has been well-received at radio, moving quickly into the Top 15 at AAA.

Yesterday, the band performed “Hypotheticals” on the “Ellen DeGeneres Show.” Watch/share their performance HERE. Earlier this month, Lake Street Dive also performed on the “Late Show with Stephen Colbert” and on “CBS This Morning: Saturday Sessions.”

Obviously, out now on Nonesuch Records, continues to receive widespread acclaim:

Listen to bassist Bridget Kearney’s interview with NPR Morning Edition Saturday HERE.

“[‘Anymore’ is] a patient but unsparingly analytical song about the protracted last throes of a relationship. Lake Street Dive, an era-hopping band that can reach all the way back to small-group swing, places ‘Anymore’ in the 1970s and 1980s of Steely Dan and Marvin Gaye, with electric keyboards, drum machines and tickling guitars. The gloss doesn’t hide the heartbreak or the anger.”—The New York Times

“On Obviously, they’re still oddballs, but in the best way. At a moment when pop strives for lo-fi, solitary-world intimacy, the jazz-pop-whatever band refuses to think small. Fully living up to the water imagery in their name, they’ve made their first truly abashed yacht rock record—with all the hooks, musical interplay, sophistication and sometimes dodgy lyrics of that genre.”—Rolling Stone

“You need to make this band part of your life... Lake Street Dive fave never sounded better, full and clear with every instrument given a chance to shine in every song.”—Associated Press

“The quintet doesn’t wield its jazz-honed chops as a weapon, but in the service of flagrantly pop-embracing, genre-transcending songs that incorporate the feels of Motown, ’70s soul and classic rock.”—Variety

“Lake Street Dive have been one of America’s hidden musical treasures for too long. Tight and playful, but not devoid of heft, this is an album to lift the spirits.”—Daily Mail

“The reinvigorated landscape of the band’s dynamics left Lake Street Dive with freshly budding seeds of inspiration to write their new album, Obviously, a record that’s as sonically colorful and expressively open as the record’s beautiful cover art.”—American Songwriter

“The most loveable grown-ups in pop are back with their clever songs and their tasteful, accomplished, arch, sophisticated blend of retro jazz and R&B styles.”—Metro UK

In addition, the band sold-out their upcoming headline performance at the historic Red Rocks Amphitheatre on September 26. Further details on forthcoming spring tour dates will be announced soon.

Obviously is produced by Grammy Award-winning producer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist Mike Elizondo, best known as a songwriting collaborator with Dr. Dre, Eminem, and 50 Cent; he has also produced records for Fiona Apple, Mary J. Blige, Carrie Underwood, and 21 Pilots, among many others. Utilizing Elizondo’s hip-hop record-making expertise, Lake Street Dive’s wide-ranging taste in pop, rock, R&B, and jazz have blended together to make an impressively cohesive sound, combining retro influences with a contemporary attitude while crafting songs that reflect this particularly turbulent chapter in our shared history.

The four original members of Lake Street Dive founded the group in 2004 while attending the New England Conservatory of Music in Boston. The band features Kearney, Rachael Price (lead vocals), Mike “McDuck” Olson (trumpet, guitar) and Mike Calabrese (drums) as well as their newest member Akie Bermiss (keyboards), who began touring with the group in 2017. Since the band’s inception they have released seven studio albums, which have an overall consumption in the U.S. of nearly 700,000 units, including more than 350 million streams and 400,000 album sales. The group has toured internationally, performing at major music festivals including Bonnaroo, New Orleans Jazz, and Newport Folk.

For additional information on the record, see the group’s bio/artist notes

For more information, please contact Louis D'Adamio, Cami Opere or Carla Sacks 212.741.1000 at Sacks & Co.

1. Hypotheticals
2. Hush Money
3. Same Old News
4. Being a Woman
5. Making Do
6. Nobody’s Stopping You Now
7. Know That I Know
8. Lackluster Lover
9. Anymore
10. Feels Like the Last Time
11. Sarah